Masoga elected Chairperson of the SALGA provincial Chief Whips Forum

Capricorn District Municipality, Chief Whip Cllr Matome Masoga was elected Chairperson of the Provincial Chief Whip’s Forum at the South African Local Government Association (SALGA) Extended Council of Speakers Indaba that took place from 07-08 March 2019 at Karibu Resort in Tzaneen.


The Launch of the SALGA Provincial Chief Whips Forum was launched following a presentation delivered by Cllr Masoga on the topic ‘Why Whippery management should be at the centre of good governance’.


Cllr Masoga currently serve as the Chief Whip at Capricorn District Municipality. He previously served as Member of the Mayoral Committee responsible for Local Economic Development and also as a Mayor at Lepelle-Nkumpi Local Municipality.


During the Extended Council of Speakers Indaba, there were also awards that were presented to the best perfuming municipalities in the Province. The following Awards were received by the Office of the Speaker of CDM during the SALGA Provincial Council of Speakers held at Karibu Leisure Resort, Tzaneen on 07 March 2019:


–              Most functional district speakers forum (in the province),

–              Most functional district MPAC forum (in the province).


We also congratulate our sister municipalities for having won in the following categories:

·       Blouberg Local Municipality for most functional MPAC Committee

·       Polokwane Local Municipality for most functional Rules and Ethics Management Committee

·       Best Performing Municipalities in Public Participation

o   Blouberg Local Municipality

o   Molemole Local Municipality

·       Most Functional Schedule of Council Meeting being Blouberg Local Municipality


The Awards were bestowed to Municipalities within the Capricorn District after assessments were made based on the Portfolio of Evidence submitted to SALGA from all the Municipalities participated in the different categories. Other municipalities from other districts also received awards.

Check Also


Cllr Rahab Masekwameng was elected as the Chairperson of the Capricorn District Municipality Multi-Party Women …